The programme has been developed around three main tracks:

  • Adult acute respiratory failure
  • Chronic respiratory failure
  • Paediatric respiratory failure

Attendees may wish to follow a track during the conference, however you are free to attend any session from the programme.

Please note that the programme will be provided in a digital format only and no printed final programme will be available onsite. You can now browse the sessions using the online programme or download a PDF copy of the programme at a glance. Please note that this is a preliminary programme and all sessions, schedule and the faculty members are subject to change.

Professor Laurent Brochard Division Director,University of Toronto Interdepartmental Division of Critical Care Medicine

Dr Lise Piquilloud Adult Intensive Care and Burn Unit, University Hospital of Lausanne and University of Lausanne

Professor Alexandre Demoule Medical Director and Principal Investigator,
Sorbonne Université

Professor Martin Tobin Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine,
Loyola University Medical Center

Professor Nicholas Hart Clinical Director Lane Fox Respiratory Service,
Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust London

Conference format

Participants benefit from:

  • Cutting-edge scientific sessions
  • Interactive educational content
  • Practical skills workshops (additional registration required)
  • Access to international experts
  • Networking opportunities
  • Possibility to submit cases and abstracts for presentation and discussion

Guidelines and templates for faculty

Please watch this short introduction video to present the conference and the session formats: Video

Chairs and Speakers Templates
Symposium PowerPoint template
PRO/CON Debate PowerPoint template
Meet the expert PowerPoint template
Skills workshops PowerPoint template
Case-based sessions PowerPoint template
Oral presentations

Programme committee

The conference programme has been developed by an expert committee consisting of the following members:



Leo Heunks

Conference Chair

ERS - Assembly Secretary Respiratory Intensive Care

Pulmonologist – intensivist, Deptartment of Intensive Care, VUmc

Amsterdam, The Netherlands



Lieuwe Bos

ERS - Chair of the ECM (Early career members) Committee

Department of Intensive Care, Amsterdam UMC

Amsterdam, The Netherlands




Brigitte Fauroux

Professor in Paediatrics and Head of a Paediatric Noninvasive Ventilation and Sleep Unit and a Respiratory Physiology Laboratory in Necker University Hospital Paris

Paris, France



Stefano Nava

Professor and Chief of the Respiratory and Critical Care Sant’ Orsola Hospital

Department of Experimental, Diagnostic and Specialty Medicine - DIMES

Bologna, Italy



Marcus J Schultz

Professor of Intensive Care Medicine, Academic Medical Center in Amsterdam and Mahidol-Oxford Tropical Medicine Research Unit in Bangkok

Amsterdam, The Netherlands



Anita Simonds

ERS – Vice President

Consultant in respiratory and sleep medicine, Professor of respiratory and sleep medicine, National Heart and Lung Institute, Imperial College London

London, United Kingdom



Wolfram Windisch

Head of Department Pneumology, Clinic of Cologne, University of Witten/Herdecke

Cologne, Germany



float   This event has been granted 21 CME credits by the European Board for Accreditation in Pneumology (EBAP). The number of credits that you will receive corresponds to your attendance during the conference. Please note that you need to sign the register of attendance each day to ensure that you receive the CME credits. Participants of the live stream can claim CME credits for the hours they followed live.